

Allahabad University Statistics Family Alumni Meet through Webinar

Minutes of Alumni Meet

Time: 10:30 A.M.-11:30 A.M. Date: 01/08/2020

Alumni Meet is a gathering of passed out students of an institution and it is a place where the institution feels proud on seeing its successful **alumni**. During their **meet**, the **alumni** community shares their experience in the outside world, Which they faced after stepping out of the institution.

The main purpose of this alumni meet was the Inauguration of Alumni Website by Prof. Madhulekha Bhattacharya (W/O Late Prof. S. K. Bhattacharya) HOD, Department of Community Medicine, SGT University, Gurgaon, Haryana and Ex. Director NIHFW, Government of India On the birth anniversary of Late Prof. S. K. Bhattacharya. Prof. Bhattacharya was the First Professor of Department of Statistics of Allahabad University. The website was inaugurated through Google meet. This alumni meet was a tribute to the Prof. Bhattacharya on his birth anniversary. A gold medal for the topper of the department (UG/PG) was also announced in the memory of Prof. Bhattacharya.

We are very excited to announce the launch of our brand new website "www.austaa.org". We wanted to create a space for alumni to most easily access what we can do for them. We did this by making it simpler than ever to view a detailed description of our Services.

The third Statistics alumni, University of Allahabad online meet was conducted on August 01, 2020 through Google Meet. This online alumni meet was attended by approximately 50 participants included current and retired Faculty members, previous students from the 1970 batch until recent years, and the currently enrolled students in the Department of Statistics, around all over the world, including India, UK, USA and Australia. Some other faculties of other universities were also attended the webinar.

A sub-committee from among the alumni was formed to smoothly conduct the webinar of the alumni:

- 1. Sri Onkar Pathak
- 2. Sri Sanjay Mishra
- 3. Sri Alok Pandey
- 4. Sri Atul Kumar
- 5. Ms Srilekha Bhattacharya
- 6. Dr Niyati Joshi
- 7. Ms Hema Jaiswal
- 8. Mr Himanshu Katyan

Sanjay Kumar Mishra (Joint Resident Commissioner, Mumbai) has started the session with welcome to the all the participants and he pay thanks to the Alok Pandey Sir, O. N. Pathak Sir, Prof. Anoop Chaturvedi Sir, Prof. G. S. Pandey Sir and Prof. S. Lalitha for their corporation and guidance. Firstly, he invited Prof. Madhulekha Bhattacharya (W/O Late Prof. S. K. Bhattacharya) for the inauguration of the website. Prof. Madhulekha Bhattacharya has started her talk with lighting the lamp and then she inaugurated the website. She also shared her memory with Prof. Bhattacharya. All the three daughters

of Prof. Bhattacharya were attended the meet. Dr. Srilekha Bhattacharya discussed all the important features of the website.

Prof. Anoop Chaturvedi Sir (Retd., Ex-HOD) was also attended the session. He shared some wonderful moments with Prof Bhattacharya. He told that he stared working in the field of Bayesian after inspiring with him.

Sri O. N. Pathak ji was shared his experience related to all the formalities of launching the website and approval for the gold medal. He also talked about the Parzen Book which was recommended by Prof Bhattacharya and he also said that he hated the "Gupta & Kapoor".

Prof. Kuldeep Kumar (Bond University, Australia) was attended the webinar and he pays his tribute to Prof Bhattacharya with wonderful words. He shared some events with Prof Bhattacharya, which shows he was a wonderful teacher. Prof. Kumar told that when he was coming for the interview of ECC then Prof. Bhattacharya was asking a question with him that is "What is the good quality of a teacher". Each member of the alumni pays his tribute to the Prof. Bhattacharya.

Prof. Somayajullu Uv (President IASP) from Hyderabad University and Dr Nandita Saikia (JNU) also attended the session and congratulate to the members of the alumni. Dr Santosh Sir (Retd. Prof. Ewing Christian College, Prayagraj) and research scholar of Prof. Bhattacharya shared his research experience with his guide. He was discussed the Philosophy of Mahabharata in the words of Prof. Bhattacharya.

Alok Pandey Sir, Vijay Tiwari Sir, Neel Kamal Sharma, Vidhukanta Mishra and others also talked about Prof. Bhattacharya. They all are overwhelmed because of launching the website. Alok Pandey Sir told that when he moved to USA then Prof. Bhattacharya said to other students "main ek ko bhej diya hai, baki ab sab alok se contact karo wo tumhari puri help karega".

Dr Sandeep Mishra discuss some research papers of Prof. Bhattacharya, which is a milestone in the field of Bayesian and Reliability. Sanjay Mishra Sir shared his story "How he gets motivated for gold medal" for the toppers of the department. He said that when he topped in his class and he didn't get any medal, at that time he decided for the gold medal. Dr Anand Mishra Sir was also attended the meet and he also shared his wonderful experience with Prof. Bhattacharya.

Dr. Niyati Joshi Sir also shared his memorable experiences with Prof. Bhattacharya.

Dr. Shrutilekha Bhattacharya concluded the session and pays the vote of thanks. It was a most happy moment for the alumni and each participant looking enthusiastic in the meet. Overall, the meet lasted for more than three hours with the active participation of every member of this Alumni. Looking at the enthusiasm of the participants.

Participants of Alumni Meeting through Webinar of Department of Statistics, University of Allahabad dated: 01.08.2020

S. No.	Name (Dr./Mr/Miss)	Batch
1	Dr. G.S. Pandey	Retd. Professor
2	Dr. Anoop Chaturvedi	Retd. Professor
3	Dr Santosh	Retd. Professor (ECC)
4	Prof Madhulekha Bhattacharya	Prof. SGT, Gurgaon
5	Prof Kuldeep Kumar	
6	Dr. Alok Pandey	
7	Mr. Abhay Diwedi	
8	Dr. Anand Mishra	
9	Ms. Anchal Gupta	
10	Mr. Anudeep Mukerjee	
11	Mr. Ashutosh Kumar Mourya	
12	Mr. Ashwani Kumar Mishra	
13	Mr. Atul Kumar	M.Sc. 1988
14	Ms. Deepti Tripathi	
15	Mr. Dharma Raj	
16	Dr Niyati Joshi	M.Sc. 1998
17	Dr Sandeep Mishra	P.hd. 2018
18	Dr Tanuja Sriwastava	P.hd. 2018
19	Dr Shruti Srivastava	M.Sc. 1998
20	Mr. Himanshu Katyan	
21	Mr. K P Singh	
22	Dr Maneesh Dubey	
23	Dr. Nandita Saikia	
24	Mr. Neel Kamal Shrama	
25	Ms. Neha Gupta	
26	Dr. Onkar Nath Pathak	
27	Mr. Praveen Kumar	
28	Mr. Ram Parihar	
29	Ms. Shreaya Baneerji	
30	Mr. Saji Vr	
31	Ms. Samriddhi Jaiswal	
32	Ms. Saniya Akbar	
33	Mr. Sanjay Mishra	
34	Dr. Shinjita Agarrwal	M.Sc. 1998
35	Mr. Shivam Tiwari	
36	Mr. Shivendra Agrahari	
37	Mr. Shubham Mishra	
38	Prof. Somayajulu Uv	
39	Dr. Srilekha Bhattacharya	B.A. 1997
40	Dr. Sruti Bhattacharya	
41	Mr. Sunil Maurya	

42	Mr. Vidhukanta Mishra	
43	Mr. Vijay Tiwari	